Bishop brought back on Wrong Colour square

by Jane

Can a retrieved bishop rejoin the game so a player has two white space bishops? This bishop was all I had taken so I got it back after the pawn reached the other end.

Comments for Bishop brought back on Wrong Colour square

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 02, 2020
Two Bishops on the Same Squares is Legal
by: Ken

Yes Jane it's perfectly legal although maybe not a good policy. Two Bishops on the same color complex would be weaker than a traditional Bishop pair where each would cover different colored squares, thereby making them as a pair, much more powerful. Under-promotion, i.e. promoting to a Bishop, Knight or Rook rather than a Queen usually only takes place when promoting to a weaker piece is instrumental in your immediate plans, maybe necessary for checkmate or something. As the Queen can move like a Rook or a Bishop you only really see a pawn promoted to either of these when they a delivering checkmate on that move, some people think it's cuter to do it that way. Most of the time under-promotion features promotion to a Knight as this piece can control squares that a Queen cannot and this phenomenon can be part of a decisive variation to maybe win the game. But to reiterate, the answer to your question is it is legal to promote to a Bishop even if you end up with two Bishops on the same color squares.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Basic Chess Rules Questions.